Image History and Snapshots in Lightroom

The image history in Lightroom is one of the really powerful pieces that is normally overlooked by most people. It’s easy to overlook it because of the placement, you have to go to the Develop module and on the left hand side scroll all the way down to the bottom to find this. Since many people might have a lot of Lightroom Presets this left panel can get pretty long. But even though it’s one of the last options doesn’t mean its not worthy. The history panel basically tracks every move you make in Lightroom. Every time you make an adjustment it will record that step in this panel (from the bottom up) so you can quickly revert back to the file during any stage of your changes. It also saves this data to the Lightroom database so having this history really doesn’t slow down your performance at all.

Here is a view of the Lightroom History panel, if it’s hidden just tap the arrow on the left of the name to expand it. You can also click the X on the top right corner if you wanted to remove all of the history but since this isn’t really slowing down Lightroom at all it isn’t worth it to ever remove the history. You can highlight over any line and it will show you a preview of what the image looked like at that specific stage in the Navigator. If you want to go back to that stage just click on the line and your image will be set back to that stage. Really quick and easy way to revert a image back to a certain point!

Snapshots in Lightroom

The snapshot feature in Lightroom is a really cool feature where you can take a snapshot of an image you are working on to easily revert back to later. A snapshot does not create another copy of the image but saves the settings in the database so it won’t take up any real extra hard drive space. The snapshots panel is located right above the history panel and adding a new snapshot can be done by just clicking on the + button to the top right of the panel.

history panel lightroom

Once you click on this you can give the snapshot its own custom name. Once you create the snapshot it will show up in the snapshot panel and you can add as many snapshots of an image as you would like. You can also modify some of the settings with a snapshot by Control – Clicking on the snapshot name to open up a extra menu.

snapshots adobe lightroom copy

Copy Snapshot Settings to Before – If you use the Before and After view in Lightroom to compare this will copy this snapshot to be the new Before image.

Rename – Straightforward, here you can rename the snapshot.

Update with Current Settings – Say you had a snapshot for a black and white version of the photo but after looking at it later wanted the black and white version to have a little more contrast. Instead of deleting and adding a new snapshot you can update the snapshot with your current settings.

Delete – Pretty simple, if you need to delete the snapshot just click this.

Another very similar feature that Lightroom has is Virtual copies and i’ll cover that in another article coming soon. Remember to make sure to sign up for our updates in our weekly recap or daily emails here: Ways to stay in contact with Digital Photo Buzz.

If you like our articles remember to share them on Facebook, Twitter or +1 them on Google. I appreciate you spreading the word to your photo friends! Also remember to always start a conversation by leaving a Facebook comment at the bottom of the page. I love to hear from you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Author: Mark

Mark is a fine art wedding and portrait photographer from Northern California. He has been passionate about photography since childhood and started his studio 12 years ago to bring a fresh style of photography to the wedding and portrait world.

Share This Post On
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *