Adobe made a pretty huge change to the subscription policy for their Lightroom app. Lightroom has always been available as part of the Creative Cloud subscription service that Adobe rolled out awhile back. However in the past if you had cancelled your Lightroom subscription you would loose access to all of the applications including Lightroom. Since Lightroom is a database unlike the other apps in Adobe suite like Photoshop and Illustrator when you loose access you would loose the ability to all the info you had spent time creating and cataloging.
Now if you choose to cancel your Creative Cloud subscription you won’t loose full access to Lightroom. You will still be able to launch the application and can use many of the features like the Slideshow, Web and Print tabs as well as the quick develop module. You will loose access to the advanced editing sliders on the develop module but all the main cataloging features of Lightroom will still be available.
Lightroom gave some additional details in the following blog post.
“With Lightroom 5.5, at the end of a membership, the desktop application will continue to launch and provide access to the photographs managed within Lightroom as well as the Slideshow, Web, Book or Print creations that we know many photographers painstakingly create.
“The Develop and Map modules have been disabled in order to signal the end of the membership and the need to renew in order to receive Adobe’s continuous innovation in those areas. Access to Lightroom mobile workflows will also cease to function.”
I think this is a very positive move for Adobe and am glad they are loosening the restrictions on their subscriptions. What do you think about the change? Let me know in the comments below.
If you like our articles remember to share them on Facebook, Twitter or +1 them on Google. I appreciate you spreading the word to your photo friends! Also remember to always start a conversation by leaving a Facebook comment at the bottom of the page.